Skip to content

Is this how our politicians act?

March 4, 2010

Toronto Councilor Paula Fletcher went ballistic on one of her bosses the other day.  In this case her boss being a taxpayer who had the nerve to question the way city council was spending their budget.

If Paula Fletcher is allowed to keep her job, or worse yet, if she is somehow re-elected then I will have lost all faith in the Canadian political system.  I admit that I don’t have far to go in order to lose “all faith” in it but, even still it would be very disheartening.  What in the world is wrong with politicians that they think they can treat people with such contempt?

There is a lot of talk about how she is the former President of The Communist Party of Canada, although I’m not sure if that is really relevant.  I mean she acted like a spoiled brat and really I think that’s the point here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 10:35 pm

    Oh! I would have loved to have seen the apology! Ha! Well, the one thing I can say (knowing very little about Canadian politics) is that I do like the idea that politicians can lose thier cool sometimes and you know, act human. Should she be removed? I don’t know — maybe there’s history there that I am not aware of, but it did make for interesting theatre!

    • March 5, 2010 9:23 am

      Sorry, I probably should have mentioned that she definitely has a history of treating taxpayers like they should mind their own business. Actually, most of David Miller’s (Toronto’s mayor) cronies do. Thank goodness he won’t be mayor for much longer.

      One outburst like this and I can sort of understand but, when this is the way you normally behave? I’m sorry but you are just in the wrong business IMO.

      As for the apology? If getting somebody else to read a prepared statement which contains a wishy-washy “apology” counts as an apology then I guess this is it.

      “It is extremely important to have citizens involved in civic affairs,” Ms. Fletcher wrote in a letter. She apologized “if my tone was argumentative or if they believe I do not value their participation in the budget process.”

      If my tone was argumentative??? If they believe I don’t value their participation??? Come on now.

Leave a Reply

