Skip to content

Happy Blogiversary To Me!

June 30, 2010

It was 1 year ago today that I started The View From Out Here!

It has been a pretty quick year, full of ups and downs in real life as well as with trying to stay committed to blogging.  Overall it’s been a pretty good year though.  I figured I’d try to go through some of the highlights from my blog from the first year.

Here we go:

  • Total views: 44,000 +
  • Total comments: 92
    • 383 if we’re counting Spam
    • Surprisingly, very few of these comments are from me…….the real ones, not the spam ones…….although those aren’t from me either!
  • Total posts: 85 (I’m impressed that it made it that high with all the lulls in my posting frequency)
  • At least 1,500 views every month!
  • At least 100 views every day for the past 2 months!
  • Busiest day: July 27th with 3,300 + views!
  • Top viewed post with over 30,000 views : Buy a truck, get a free AK47
    • Go figure, it’s also the top commented post as well
  • My favourite post: Mass Flooding in Hamilton, ON
    • This is the closest I’ve ever come to breaking a news story.  I was driving on the Red Hill Expressway when it flooded and I had the whole scoop, complete with photos.  Which I posted as soon as I got off the road.  It was so cool to get like 3000 views in like 9 hours when the most I’d had in a day before that was about 10 since it was in my first month of blogging.
  • More than 1 person subscribed, so a hearty thank you to you all!
  • Number of people I helped with web development (that I’m aware of): 4
  • Most of my top search terms are either to do with AK47 or Flooding but, I have a surprising number of searches for “cat deer”, “bird and fox”, as well as xkcd
  • The number one thing clicked on in this blog is………the Hamilton SPCA link (the one with the cat & dog in the sidebar).  Apparently people like it, which I’m glad for.  I wish I knew if anyone ever adopted an animal after coming from here…
  • Number of themes I’ve used………..1!  Shocking I know.

Okay, so year 1 went well.  I hope that the second year comes just as easily as the first did, I’ve enjoyed it all.  Thanks to everyone who reads, please, feel free to comment as well!!  Have a wonderful and uplifting day everyone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Roger's Place permalink
    June 30, 2010 6:33 pm

    Amazing Job, my lad!

    And you can add my thanks for helping Carmen Lezeth Suarez get her Web stuff figured out.

    Happy Blogiversary Indeed!

    Roger

    • June 30, 2010 8:00 pm

      Thank you very much!

      It was my pleasure to help Carmen out, she was my first subscriber so it was the least I could do for her, lol. Seriously though, she’s a lovely girl and I was happy to help her with everything.

      Thanks for stopping by Roger!

  2. July 1, 2010 8:16 am

    Happy Happy Bri-Bri! WOOHOO!

    And yes, thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you so very much for helping me with my website! I adore everything you did for me (and I love that Roger does too! He’s so very cool!).

    …and do you know how much I love that I was the first? ( Hee! Hee!). I know you’re big on stats and stuff, so I wish you much more great success in the year to follow.

    Looking forward to reading (and learning) so much more!

    Hugs, love and all that good stuff!

    Carmen!

    • July 1, 2010 3:21 pm

      Let’s not go through this thank you, you’re welcome thing again Carmen, lol! I believe we’ve covered all of that already. And yes, you were the first, lol, I thought you would like that.

      Thanks Carmen, much success to you as well! And there WILL be a test at the end, so I hope you are retaining all this info that you’re learning here!

  3. July 26, 2010 7:45 pm

    Wonderful site and theme, would really like to see a bit more content though!
    Great post all around, added your XML feed! Love this theme, too!

Leave a Reply

